

Editor-in-Chief of the *Automatic Control* series Prof. Piotr Kulczycki, D.Sc., Ph.D., M.Sc.EE, M.Sc.Math.

A NOTE FROM THE EDITOR-IN-CHIEF

Dear Readers,

This issue sees the end of the second year of the series *Automatic Control*, appearing as part of the *Technical Transactions* journal, published by the *Cracow University of Technology Press*. In the first year, 2012 – to be more specific, in the three months following the summer vacation – the pilot issue left the presses, and in the second, 2013, the series became a fully-fledged quarterly. Now the series *Automatic Control* of the *Technical Transactions* journal has an entry on the portal *Scientific Journals Online* (http://www.ejournals.eu).

Together with the current development trends in automatic control, the subjects covered in issues of the series *Automatic Control* to date have spanned a broad and varied range: from new aspects of classical control engineering and mathematical modeling to modern information technology. Specific articles gave extensive representation to temporary aspects of data analysis and exploration, artificial intelligence, information processing and decisionmaking support.

ല

In bringing this initial phase to a close, I would like to extend my warmest gratitude to all members of the first **Editorial Board**. Its names, listed on the second page of this issue, would undoubtedly bring esteem to any journal.

My thanks also go to the **Executive Editors** for their assistance in dealing with a magnitude of daily duties.

Aware of the particularly thankless task that is reviewing, I especially appreciate the efforts of the **reviewers**:

Krassimir Atanassov (Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, BULGARIA), Valentina Emilia Bălas (Aurel Vlaicu University of Arad, ROMANIA), Ewa Bednarczuk (Systems Research Institute, Polish Academy of Sciences, POLAND), Robert Cierniak (Czestochowa University of Technology, POLAND), Antoni Leon Dawidowicz (Jagiellonian University, POLAND), Guy De Tré (Ghent University, BELGIUM), Jan Tadeusz Duda (AGH University of Science and Technology, POLAND), Ewa Dudek-Dyduch (AGH University of Science and Technology, POLAND), Uliana Dzelendziak (Lviv Polytechnic National University, UKRAINE), Abdelali El Aroudi (Universitat Rovira i Virgili, SPAIN), Alexander Gegov (University of Portsmouth, GREAT BRITAIN), Olgierd Hryniewicz (Systems Research Institute, Polish Academy of Sciences, POLAND), Andrzej Janczak (University of Zielona Góra, POLAND), Jerzy Józefczyk (Wrocław University of Technology, POLAND). Jacek Kabziński (Lodz University of Technology, POLAND), Janusz Kacprzyk (Systems Research Institute, Polish Academy of Sciences, POLAND), Jerzy Klamka (Silesian University of Technology, POLAND), László T. Kóczy (Széchenyi István University in Györ, HUNGARY), Heikki Koivo (Aalto University, FINLAND), Józef Korbicz (University of Zielona Góra, POLAND), Zdzisław Kowalczuk (Gdańsk University of Technology, POLAND), Wiesław Krajewski (Systems Research Institute, Polish Academy of Sciences, POLAND), Lech Kruś (Systems Research Institute, Polish Academy of Sciences, POLAND), Halina Kwaśnicka (Wrocław University of Technology, POLAND), Rita Lovassy (Óbuda University, HUNGARY), Piotr Malecki (Institute of Nuclear Physics, Polish Academy of Sciences, POLAND), Jacek Malinowski (Systems Research Institute, Polish Academy of Sciences, POLAND), Krzysztof Malinowski (Warsaw University of Technology, POLAND), Radko Mesiar (Slovak University of Technology, SLOVAKIA), Andrzej Myśliński (Systems Research Institute, Polish Academy of Sciences, POLAND), Andrian Nakonechnyy (Lviv Polytechnic National University, UKRAINE), Andrzej Obuchowicz (University of Zielona Góra, POLAND), Krzysztof Patan (University of Zielona Góra, POLAND), Irena Pawłow-Niezgódka (Systems Research Institute, Polish Academy of Sciences, POLAND), Milan Petrík (Institute of Computer Science, Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic, CZECH REPUBLIC),

Andrzej Pieczyński (University of Zielona Góra, POLAND),

Oleksandr Rolick (National Technical University of Ukraine, UKRAINE),

4

Leszek Rutkowski (Czestochowa University of Technology, POLAND), Dominik Sankowski (Lodz University of Technology, POLAND), Modesto Castrillón Santana (University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, SPAIN), Henrik Schiøler (Aalborg University, DENMARK), Jan Studziński (Systems Research Institute, Polish Academy of Sciences, POLAND), Krzysztof Szkatuła (Systems Research Institute, Polish Academy of Sciences, POLAND), Eulalia Szmidt (Systems Research Institute, Polish Academy of Sciences, POLAND), Ryszard Tadeusiewicz (AGH University of Science and Technology, POLAND), Sergii Telenyk (National Technical University of Ukraine, UKRAINE), Lipo Wang (Nanyang Technological University, SINGAPORE), Rafael Wisniewski (Aalborg University, DENMARK), Marcin Witczak (University of Zielona Góra, POLAND), Sławomir Zadrożny (Systems Research Institute, Polish Academy of Sciences, POLAND).

Their subject input and criticism (the rate of refused texts reached 35%) was a particularly valuable help in this early period, always difficult by nature.

I am grateful to everyone, especially the authors who sent manuscripts, at the end of such a fruitful term, for their cooperation and for what we have created together.

Piotr Kulczycki